A daughter is a daughter, is a daughter

Blume With Strawberries
Blume With Strawberries

Blume With Strawberries

My oldest daughter, Blume, at 3 years old. 1977. Oil on canvas.

I thought the garland in her hair was appropriate for a child of 60s parents (and one named Blume). I didn’t let her dad name her Cactus Flower but we both liked Blume. Then we had to decide whether to spell it Bloom or not. I decided Bloom was better for a small child than an adult woman so…

We lived out in a little farm house in the desert, hence the deserted background.

It’s interesting to me to see how my painting style changed in the 6 years between this one and the next. I painted in oils and acrylics and made some Prismacolor, ink and pencil drawings but was primarily a painter. See the small chip of paint missing on Blume’s shoulder? That’s because canvases were expensive, I was poor, and there is another varnished (oh no) painting underneath! Apparently I was too lazy to sand it down first and reapply Gesso.

Lexa Vanessa
Lexa Vanessa

Lexa Vanessa

My youngest daughter, Lexa Vanessa. I painted this when she was 3 years old. She’s 31 now and just had her first child, a daughter, so I thought it appropriate to get this old portrait out again. Oil on canvas, 1980.

deja vu
deja vu

deja vu

Lexa was 15 when I took the photo and painted this portrait of teenage angst. Since everything old is new again, the T-shirt, the beads, and all, I named it “deja vu.”

This isn’t a perfect portrait. I overworked the face. It used to have better gradation in the skin tones similar to the arms. But there are too many things about this painting I like so I can’t reject it, especially since it is my daughter at a very important time in our lives. But hey, nobody’s perfect, right?

Diana Moore is my maiden name.

Detail shots

Blume detail
Blume detail

Lexa detail
Lexa detail
deja vu detail
deja vu detail
One thought on “A daughter is a daughter, is a daughter

Leave a Reply

