In dreams

Hello! I am finally working in my studio again. I have this on again/off again affair with art. Maybe the field needs to lie fallow to regenerate, I don’t know, but it seems to be a life-long habit. I bought these fabulous little faces from MaidOfClay at Etsy a long while back and am so glad I finally got to use them. I hesitated at first because they were so pretty I wanted them to be used in a very special way. I finally decided to just do it and I think they turned out to be interesting little pieces. Wislawa Szymborska’s “In Praise of Dreams” inspired both pieces — each title taken from one line in the poem. Her work always sparks my imagination. She is so worldly and wise. She makes me feel like she has been down all paths before me, a reassuring thing since I’ve lived my entire adult life without a mom. Everyone needs a mom, so I read the poets.

"Breathing Under Water"

“I’ve got no problem breathing under water”

Strength is often the result of being pushed down, engulfed, or held down by circumstances. Push up from the bottom and, once you get that breath of fresh air, you are reborn as a survivor. 6″ beaded mosaic wall hanging.

_______________________

"I Fly the Way We Ought To"

“…I fly the way we ought to, i.e., on my own”

In dreams, anything is possible. In life, we can often accomplish the unimaginable. “I Fly the Way We Ought To” celebrates the freedom of the female spirit. 6″ beaded mosaic wall hanging.

_______________________

In Praise of Dreams — by Wislawa Szymborska

Whitespace_20h_x_119w_5
Whitespace_20h_x_119w_5
In my dreams
I paint like Vermeer van Delft.

I speak fluent Greek
and not just with the living.

I drive a car
that does what I want it to.

I am gifted
and write mighty epics.

I hear voices
as clearly as any venerable saint.

My brilliance as a pianist
would stun you.

I fly the way we ought to,
i.e., on my own.

Falling from the roof,
I tumble gently to the grass.

I’ve got no problem
breathing under water.

I can’t complain:
I’ve been able to locate Atlantis.

It’s gratifying that I can always
wake up before dying.

As soon as war breaks out,
I roll over on my other side.

I’m a child of my age,
but I don’t have to be.

A few years ago
I saw two suns.

And the night before last a penguin,
clear as day.

10 thoughts on “In dreams

  1. Both are wonderful – Breathing Under Water is fabulous!

    “Maybe the field needs to lie fallow to regenerate” – seems to be true! I’m glad you got back out to the studio again.

  2. Yes, I also agree with the lying fallow thing, and just the fact that we have rythyms – we can’t be productive all the time. We’d shrivel up 🙂

    I love breathing under water too – again I am desperate for my writing to take off so some of your art can come and live with me…

    And thanks for putting the poem up too, it’s wonderful. x

  3. Thanks Mary, Emma and Joanna. I appreciate your coming to take a look. I’m glad you like them. It’s interesting that I created Breathing Under Water last and felt more free to let go in the beading and it turned out to be the favorite so far. That’s surely a sign that I need to relax and have more fun while working.

    It’s also interesting that it was the hardest one to get going. I really struggled with it. Then I said to myself “Oh, just do whatever you want” and the next thing I knew it was done and I like it.

    @Joanna 🙂 What else could the poets be for but to soothe our existence?

  4. I have missed your art and your posts; life has intervened for so long now. I can breathe and stop in and say hi. Hope you are well, Diana. Sending lots of light your way.

  5. Hello. Skyewriter recommended your blog to me, and I am so glad that she did. Lovely pieces of art. And I love the poem. Thank you.

  6. Thanks Kevin, Nice songs… I visited you at FB. I’m sure WS has many admirers besides us, but it’s nice to hear from someone else who is inspired by her.

Leave a Reply

