There was rain, there was snow, and there was a whopper of a traffic jam trying to get back home to my golden retrievers.

New Stone Age Mosaics
New Stone Age Mosaics and Cactus Gallery

Yes! Today I took some of my beaded mosaics to place on consignment in New Stone Age Mosaic‘s studio (inside the Cactus Gallery) in Eagle Rock (CA). It was a 70 mile drive one way. It was Friday the 13th and there was pouring rain, there was snow, and there was a whopper of a traffic jam trying to get back home to my golden retrievers.

This is the first time I’ve shown my work outside of the area where I live (except on the web), and I’m excited to see how it’s received there. Cactus Gallery is one good looking gallery! It’s a lively spot of color on a nice, tree-lined street. It’s bright yellow and painted on all sides with beautiful murals.

Mary Clark-Camargo has her studio, New Stone Age Mosaics, in the same building. It is on the side of the building that says Gifts/Gallery. Mary does wonderful mosaics, my favorites are her skulls and her female torsos, beautiful! Mary has graciously decided to showcase some of her favorite mosaic artists on her studio walls and I’m one of them!

Tomorrow, Cactus Gallery and New Stone Age Mosaics will be part of the NELA (North East L.A.) Second Saturday Gallery Night, so I hope they get a lot of foot traffic. Cactus Gallery is truly unique in its gallery of artists and its Argentine roots. What I saw today were the hippest contemporary artists, exquisite Argentine jewelry, handcrafted purses and accessories.

I live on the other side of a mountain range from the L.A. area and, even though I commuted to school there, I have avoided the desire to get involved “down below” as we call it. The traffic is horrendous, but I can no longer deny that the diversity and opportunity are really tremendous.
Wish me luck.

Studio wall, New Stone Age Mosaics
Studio wall, New Stone Age Mosaics
Cactus Gallery
Cactus Gallery
Setting up window display
Setting up window display
cool window display...
cool window display...
the trip home took 3 1/2 hours to go 70 miles
the trip home took 3 1/2 hours to go 70 miles
Sunny and Abby Rose, my 2 goldens
Sunny and Abby Rose, my 2 goldens
7 thoughts on “There was rain, there was snow, and there was a whopper of a traffic jam trying to get back home to my golden retrievers.

  1. Good, I’m glad to be supporting new Stone Age Mosaics! If you can, pass it on. Mary is doing a really cool thing by supporting local artists by showcasing them in her studio.

  2. @LB
    Hey, I thought I recognized your user name! You are the one who did the golden retriever in the car! My husband and I have loved that since I first found it on EBSQ. Nice to hear from you (and send me to your blog), thanks! See you there…

Leave a Reply

