When hearts are heavy, hearts escape

I live in the suburbs (boring). No one should ever have to live in the suburbs (boring). Only soccer moms.

In the suburbs we are tempted to build ourselves a gilded cage that, however lavishly adorned, is still a prison… of convention, circumstance, oppression, happenstance. No number of possessions, or diversions, can escape the reality that you are on the sidelines.

"Heart's Escape"
"Heart's Escape"

Heart’s Escape
mixed-media mosaic on found object, 2008
was inspired by Rabindranath Tagore who wrote…
“I have no wings to fly, I am bound in this spot evermore.”
It is adapted from his soulful poem, I Am Restless. I read Tagore often. His work is timeless and soothing.

This piece was first titled “Caged Heart”. But where is the heart?

"Ocean Heart"
"Ocean Heart"

I couldn’t bear to see her confined, so I let her escape through her dreams into the ocean’s deep embrace. May she find herself there.
__________________

"Heart's Escape" ocean floor with dream swing
"Heart's Escape" ocean floor with dream swing
"Heart's Escape" back view
"Heart's Escape" back view
cage top
cage top
9 thoughts on “When hearts are heavy, hearts escape

  1. Thank you Emma, the muse. I return the compliment. Your writing says what I can’t express with art! That’s why I sometimes wish I were a writer instead of an artist. I’m getting some pointers though, from my blogging friends!

Leave a Reply

